How much elves are there?

As it turns out, Santa Claus has a small but steady crew of elves who help him each year. The original six elves include Alabaster Snowball, Bushy Evergreen, Pepper Minstix, Shinny Upatree, Sugarplum Mary, and Wunorse Openslae