What do americans call natural gas?

Americans use 'gas' as a short form of gasoline. Just like British use petrol as a short form of petroleum. In the US and Canada, they use 'gas' for the liquid fuel, and use it for what we call 'domestic gas', which to American and Canadians, is natural gas (They don't commonly use coal gas).