How do you take a saddle of a pig?

You can ride pigs in Minecraft by putting a saddle on them. However, when you do that the saddle disappears from your inventory, and there is no way to unsaddle the pig (so that you can use the saddle for other purposes) while it's living. The only way to get the saddle back is by killing the pig.