What is the movie pixels about?

Pixels, released in 2015, directed by Chris Columbus, stars Adam Sandler as a former arcade game champion. When aliens that look like PAC-Man, Donkey Kong and other classic arcade characters invade the earth, he is enlisted to help save the world.