What is a covered entrance to a building called?

The word is portico - "A porch or entrance to a building consisting of a covered and often columned area" - WordWeb " [A] porch leading to the entrance of a building, or extended as a colonnade, with a roof structure over a walkway, supported by columns or enclosed by walls."