Is dishwasher one word?

Yes! Many words like this evolve from being a name [noun] for something previously unnamable by a single word but created from joining two words and making them grammatically one with a hyphen. e.g. a "rowing-boat" - a boat for rowing. Finally, the hyphen falls out; a new noun is born!