What's the difference between a boil and a spot?

A spot is a result of a pore becoming clogged. A boil is a pus-filled lump caused by bacterial infection. It can appear red and swollen. While a person can treat both boils and pimples at home, boils can sometimes turn into a severe infection known as a carbuncle.