Why does santa wear a red suit?

The image of Santa in a red suit is mostly the American one. Credit is often, though mistakenly, given to the Coca-Cola Company, but depictions wearing red go back much further. Green is another common colour. In Eastern religion he is depicted wearing his bishop's robes, carrying a mitre