What is a magnetic seed?

Scientists at UCL have developed a novel cancer therapy, demonstrated in mice, is called “minimally invasive image-guided ablation” or MINIMA and comprises a ferromagnetic thermoseed navigated to a tumour generated by an MRI scanner, before being remotely heated to kill nearby cancer cells.