What does forty two mean in the meaning of life?

It's one of the big jokes of the film and the books of hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy. Humans have spent lifetimes seeking the meaning of life! The joke is the answer to the question is not some deep answer but a calculation that answers nothing and only poses more questions