What is the fastest engine in the world?

Difficult to answer, as the engine has to achieve traction in order to achieve velocity. Traction against e.g :- a road surface, air or water, requiring the engine to impart a force to e.g :- wheel, propeller, or jet turbine The fastest engine would be those that propel rockets into space.