What is codename bananas about?

Britain is at war with Germany. As bombs rain down on the city, orphan boy Eric forms a friendship with a remarkable gorilla: Gertrude. Eric spends his days at the place that makes him most happy: London Zoo. But when the zoo is no longer safe Eric must go on an epic adventure to rescue Gertrude.