What is excess sketch?

Etch A Sketch is a mechanical drawing toy. Two knobs control a stylus that scrapes aluminium powder off a glass screen to reveal a line. By careful manipulation of the knobs, intricate artwork can be made. The screen can be reset by inverting the device, thereby re-applying the powder to the screen.