What is nifty bank?

Nifty Bank, or Bank Nifty, is an index comprised of the most liquid and large capitalised Indian banking stocks. It provides investors with a benchmark that captures the capital market performance of Indian bank stocks. The index has 12 stocks from the banking sector.