What is kaioken?

From the anime, Dragonball Z, the Kaio Ken is a heavenly martial arts technique taught to Goku by North Kaio. It is one of Goku's signature techniques. The Kaio Ken amplifies Goku's speed, power, mental acuity and physical prowess for short bursts of high intensity.