What happened to benito mussolini?

In late April 1945, Mussolini and his mistress Clara Petacci attempted to flee to Switzerland, but were captured by Italian communist partisans and summarily executed by firing squad on 28 April 1945 near Lake Como. Their bodies were taken to Milan, where they were hung upside down to confirm death.