What happened at the battle of the sun?

You may be asking about the battle of the Somme. It was one of the bloodiest known battles in history, on the first day alone there were 60,000 casualties and around 20,000 deaths. In total there were over 1,000,000 casualties, and over 300,000 men were killed or declared missing.