What's an alloy of tin and lead?

Alloys that combine tin and lead have a number of different names and applications. Solder is an alloy of tin and lead used to create electrical joints. Terne plate is an alloy of tin and lead used to coat steel. Some antique pewter also contains both tin and lead.