Why are long longjohns called long jeans?

The company John Smedley's Lea Mills in Matlock, Derbyshire is said to have created long johns as a costume for the late-19th-century heavyweight boxer John L. Sullivan. It is also been posed that the term is an approximation of the French “longues jambes”, which translates to “long legs.”