Do you wear shin pads in rugby?

Shin pads are worn to protect the shins from the boots of other players as they attempt to tackle the ball away from a player's feet. Rugby is less about kicking and more about carrying and passing the ball. Hence there is less foot contact to the legs and shin pads are not required.