Do vegetables grow on trees?

Not unless you stretch the definition of “grow on.” For example, certain mushrooms grow only on trees and logs; and plantains, cousins to bananas, are considered vegetables in some countries. The closest thing to a veggie growing on a tree is hearts of palm.