When will u. y. scuti explode?

UY Scuti will definitely explode as a supernova one day, but by the standards of supernovas it will be an “ordinary” one. That's because the power of a supernova depends on its mass, not size. And UY Scuti, at some 7–10 solar masses, is about average among “stars which go boom”.