What does e. r. stand for on post boxes?

If it is E I I R, then it is the royal cypher of the current Queen. The letters stand for 'Elizabeth the Second Regina', and signify that the box was erected during her reign. There are still some E V I I R, Edward 7 Rex, boxes around, but E V I I I R, Edward 8 Rex, boxes are very rare