How do you get to the nether in minecraft?

To access the Nether, the player must construct a nether portal in the Overworld (portals created in The End do not activate). To create the portal, the player must first build a rectangular obsidian frame, ranging in size from a minimum of 4×5 to a maximum of 23×23.