What is a first class stamp?

In the UK, a first class stamp is postage stamp issued by Royal Mail to indicate that postage has been paid. The stamp itself is a small sticker which is applied to envelopes or packets before posting. The higher of two classes, Royal Mail aims to deliver first class items the next working day.