Who came up with the just war theory?

The Just War theory was first developed by St Thomas Aquinas, one of the most influential theoligans of the past 1000 years. The theory set out conditions against which to judge whether a war should be waged (jus ad bellum ), if it could be justified, and how it should be waged (jus in bello ).