What is the acid in oranges and lemons called?

Acid in oranges, grapefruits, limes and lemons, which are collectively called citric fruits, is citric acid. Citric acid is a weak tricarboxylic acid (TCA), or 2-hydroxy-1,2,3-propanatricar-boxylic acid. Other fruits contain citric acid but in lesser amounts, eg pineapples, strawberries, tomato.