What does it mean to sit shiva?

'Sitting shiva' describes the action of Jewish mourners participating in the traditional rituals of observing a shiva. During this period, mourners sit on low stools or boxes as they receive condolence calls. This practice symbolizes the mourner being “brought low” following the loss of a loved one.