What did robert louis stevenson invent?

A Scottish author of fiction & travel books, known for his books Treasure Island & Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde, he invented the sleeping bag. A keen traveler who enjoyed the outdoors, he designed a 6 foot square sleeping sack, made of waterproof cart-cloth and blue sheep's fur in 1878.