When is buckwheat?

Never. Buckwheat (Fagopyrum esculentum), or common buckwheat, is a plant cultivated for its grain-like seeds and as a cover crop. Despite its name, buckwheat is not closely related to wheat. It is not a cereal, nor is it even a member of the grass family.