What is the scientific name for the decomposition of a liquid by passing an electric current?

ELECTROLYSIS. The liquid is called an electrolyte. It contains positively and negatively charged ions which are attracted to their oppositely charged electrodes. The + electrode (or anode) attracts the negative ions, or anions, and the negative electrode (or cathode) attracts the + ions, or cations