How do you mash swede?

Prepare the swede put in a saucepan and add water until it covers the swede then put on the hob turn on the heat and bring to boil then reduce the heat and simmer 12–15 minutes remove lid and boil hard for a further 5 minutes until the swede is soft then using a 'potato' masher mash the swede.