What are shillings?

The British shilling was a denomination of the British currency of pounds shillings & pence, before the currency was converted to decimal pounds & pence in 1971. One shilling was equivalent to 12 old pence or one twentieth of one old pound making the old British pound equivalent to 240 old pence.