What's a nuclear explosion?

A nuclear explosion is a large release of energy from a chain reaction. The chain reaction can be from fission, where atoms split up, or from fusion where they join together. The sun is powered by a fusion reaction. The first atomic bomb, and all nuclear power stations, use fission reactions.