What is subordinating clause?

A subordinate clause is a part of a sentence that depends on a main clause for meaning. For instance, in the sentence, Sarah drove the car which belonged to her dad, the subordinate clause is the bit that says, "which belonged to her dad". Without the main clause, it has no meaning.