How do you know if watermelon is ready?

A ripe watermelon will feel sturdy and have a resonant, satisfying hollow sound. That means it's bursting with watermelon juiciness and is at its peak of ripeness. If the thwap is dull sounding or the fruit feels soft, it is passed its best.