What do you do with tulips when they finish flowering?

Many tulips need to be replaced annually. With varieties that re-grow, remove the old flower head at the juction with the stem, to prevent seed formation, and leave the plant to die back. You can then either lift the bulb to replant in autumn, or leave it in the soil.