Why did the americans invade vietnam?

Communists were in control of North Vietnam and the USA were afraid that communism would spread to South Vietnam and then the rest of Asia. It decided to send money, supplies and military advisers to help the South Vietnamese Government. The USA’s active involvement started in 1954.