What was the second of hercules twelve labors?

Heracles, or Hercules, second labour was to slay the Lernaean Hydra, who had many heads, including an immortal one. If he cut off a head, two more grew back. His nephew had the idea of using a firebrand to scorch the neck stumps after each head came off. It worked.