What's the difference between a two stroke and a four stroke engine?

A 2 stroke engine completes its cycle by drawing in air and fuel and expelling the exhaust gases through outlets on the opposite side of the cylinder chamber as the piston travels up and down. A 4 stroke uses valves at the top of the cylinder to draw in and expel the gases. This gives more power.