Why do cats and dogs eat grass?

No one is exactly sure, but suggested reasons why your pet might be eating grass include improving digestion, treating intestinal worms, or fulfilling some unmet nutritional need, including the need for fiber. In summer grass tastes sweeter and pets seem to want to eat more of it then.