Do you have to boil potatoes before you roast them?

Boiling your potatoes for about 10 minutes before roasting, helps make sure that you get that beautiful crisp crust on the outside. If you don't parboil them, the outside skin will remain quite tough, meaning whatever fat you use will not be able to get inside the cracks.