In world war two what was operation mincemeat?

Operation Mincemeat was a British Second World War deception operation concealing the 1943 Sicilian invasion. Intelligence officers passed off the body of deceased tramp Glyndwr Michael as that of fictitious Captain William Martin. False papers on the body claimed Sicily was not the intended target.