Who invented the deckchair?

John Cham submitted a patent design in 1855, in America, for simple,wooden folding chairs with comfortable woven backs. The design may have been refined by John Thomas Moore, whose 1886 British patent for simpler ship chairs more closely resembles what we’d call a deckchair today.