What does p. a. t. r. o. n. u. s. spell?

In the Harry Potter universe, the Patronus Charm, is a spell which produces a silver, animal guardian, used to protect a witch or wizard against Dementors. It could be a familiar animal like a dog, or a magical creature, like a unicorn.