Can cats eat raw salmon?

Cats should never eat raw fish. In addition to the very real possibility of getting food poisoning from E. coli or salmonella, raw fish poses a particular threat to felines because it contains the enzyme thiaminase. This enzyme destroys thiamine, an essential B vitamin in cats.