What's a tens machine?

TENS is a therapy that uses a low voltage electrical current to provide pain relief. A TENS machine consists of a battery-powered device that delivers electrical impulses through electrodes placed on the surface of the skin. In use at a higher setting, it feels a little like pins and needles.