Who played doctor hook?

Dr. Hook was the name of a 1970s band. One of the more recognizable vocalists, sporting an eye patch and cowboy hat, was Ray Sawyer who was frequently (and erroneously) referred to as "Dr. Hook". Ray Sawyer died on 28th December 2018 aged 81.