What happened to hopper in stranger things?

During the Season 3 finale, Hopper appears to sacrifice himself and ends up disappearing into the explosion of the inter-dimensional machine. However, there is speculation that, instead of perishing, he was transported to prison by the portal, or found by the Russians, to be revealed in Season 4.