What is an american raccoon?

A raccoon is any of seven species of nocturnal mammals with bushy ringed tails. The most common is the North American raccoon (Procyon lotor), which ranges from northern Canada and the United States and into South America. It has a black “mask” across the eyes, with 5 to 10 black band/rings on tail.